Award winners at the 2018 National Conference

, ,

Eric Hayman Award

Ron Cregan

The Eric Hayman Award for Excellence is our industry’s most prestigious award, now in its 28th year.

The award recognises extremely influential and hardworking industry leaders who have made a positive impact over the years.

Ron Cregan, pictured with Grant Wilckens and Jim Hayman, was revealed as the recipient for 2018.  Ron set up his first business building aluminium caravan annexes in the 1980s and has been involved in the industry ever since.  In 1999 he and his wife Gloria successfully tendered to build cabins/houses for the 2000 Olympics and later, in 2000, they purchased the Nelligen campground.  After renovations it was transformed into the family friendly BIG4 Nelligen Holiday Park and went on to win numerous awards.

Ron is a life member of CCIA New South Wales, served on the board from the 1990s-2016, is a previous Vice President of the association and is the immediate past Chairman of the Show Committee.  He has represented CCIA NSW within CRVA and is a past Chairman of BIG4 Holiday Parks.

Richard Davis Award
Brad Slater

The Richard Davis Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Peak National Body was introduced in 2016 in dedication to the late Richard Davis OAM.  This year, the recipient was Brad Slater from Dometic.

Brad has worked in the industry for over 30 years within caravan dealerships, repairers, aftermarket and suppliers.

In the early 90’s he worked at Complete Caravan & Camping before joining Camec in the mid 90s and later became a consultant to Dometic.  He initially joined that organisation on a full time basis as General Manger, Sales.  He was then promoted to the dual role of Vice President of Sales Asia Pacific.  In 2016 he was appointed to the role of Managing Director of Dometic Australia and New Zealand.

Brad has been an incredible supporter of the work undertaken by the national body and has selflessly provided both guidance and pastoral care for members of the industry.  He has spent many days on the road pushing the story of collective success, opening the doors for new contacts for the industry body, providing mentorship for Stuart as the current CEO, and being a mouthpiece in the market in support for the national body and the activities it undertakes.


Future Leader Award
Margaret Shannon

Margaret comes from a very strong hospitality and tourism background holding a Bachelor of Tourism and Marketing.  Over the course of 15 years she has worked her way up from front line hotel operations into management roles.

During her time in the holiday park industry she has honed her skills and become intricately involved in the operations, marketing and business strategy of the parks she manages.

Chairman’s Awards
Gary Kratzmann and Donna Cocking

Gary Kratzmann and Donna Cocking were each awarded the Chairman’s award, presented by Chairman Grant Wilckens, for their contributions to the caravan and camping industry.

Gary (pictured) has been in the industry for over 30 years and had one of the largest and most successful dealerships in Queensland.  He has been instrumental in helping to shape the growth and direction of the caravan industry during this time.  For many years he was also a member of the Caravan Trade & Industries Association of Queensland Board until his resignation in December 2017.  He is extremely passionate about the industry and continues to champion the caravan and camping lifestyle.

Donna Cocking has over 20 years of experience as owner/operator of a family tourism business, has held numerous committee and board positions including State Director WA for Top Tourist Parks and past President of Caravan Industry Association WA.  She was also a National Board member for Caravan Industry Association of Australia for over two years, this included being Vice Chair and sitting on the Executive of the national board. Donna’s daughter Laura accepted the award on her behalf.